pattern left image pattern right image

Diamond Education & Learn more about 4cs

The Javda Diamond Education Guide is here to help. It provides the resources and knowledge needed to simplify the process. You can trust the assessment of diamond quality and worth when utilizing this resource.

Every diamond is distinct, and various elements influence the cost of a diamond. Focus on those factors most important to you, and choose a brilliant diamond.

diamond education-3

Satisfying individual standards for beauty and value is important when choosing a diamond. At Javda Jewelry, we understand that everyone's needs are different when it comes to diamonds.

We provide personal diamond consultants to help you make an informed decision when selecting a diamond. You can be certain that you are assessing the quality and worth correctly. Every diamond is distinctive, and numerous components can influence the cost of a diamond.he perfect diamond for your budget.

You also have access to a personal diamond consultant; who can walk you through the diamond selection process or answer any questions you have. Call 1-800-618-0057 now.

Anatomy of  diamond


Understanding the anatomy of a diamond can be helpful. However, it should not be confused with the importance of cut grade. Cut grade should be given its due importance. The many elements of a diamond and how well they are cut are included in the cut grade of a diamond.

The diameter of a diamond is the width of the girdle at its widest point. In fancy cut diamonds, the smallest diameter is used.

Table: The flat facet on the top of a diamond is known as the table. It is the largest facet of the diamond. The table is located at the top of the diamond is also know as diamond table

Crown: The top section of the diamond between the girdle and the table is known as the crown.

Girdle: The narrow band that runs across the diamond's widest point.

Pavilion: The bottom section of the diamond between the girdle and the culet is known as the pavilion.

The culet is a small facet at the bottom point of a diamond. It may not be easily visible to the unaided eye. Depth refers to the distance of the diamond from its table to its culet.


When you are planning on purchasing a diamond it is important that you know as much as possible about how diamonds are classified.There are four topics you need to become familiar with ?Cut, Color, Clarity, and Carat Weight of a diamond.



reflection image

A) When a ray of light touches the surface of a diamond, part of the light is reflected back, this is external reflection.


refraction image

B) The rest of the ray penetrates the stone and is then reflected toward the center of the diamond. This is known as refraction.


dispersion image

C) The ray of light is reflected to the surface, where it is seen as the colors of the spectrum. This is known as dispersion.

The Cut is the factor that determines the brilliance of a diamond. A classic round brilliant cut diamond has 58 facets : 33 on the top, 24 on the bottom, and the culet (1 point at the bottom). Each of the diamond's facets must be placed in exact geometric relation to one another when the stone is being cut. Quality diamonds must be properly cut and not "spread", which means that the proper proportions are compromised to make the diamond weigh more.


diamond clarity

FL-EF | Flawless or Internally Flawless. No internal inclusions.

VVS1-VVS2 | Very Very Small inclusions. Very difficult to see under 10x magnification.

VS1-VS2 | Very Small inclusions. Can bee seen under 10x magnification and in some cases to the naked eye.

SI1-SI2 | Small inclusions. Can bee seen under 10x magnification and may be visible to the naked eye.

I1-I2-I3 | Imperfect. Inclusions are visible under 10x magnification and in most cases to the naked eye.

The Clarity of a diamond is based on the number, location, size, and type of inclusions found in the stone. An inclusion is an imperfection or trace mineral in the stone that is visible under the magnification of a jeweler's loupe. The fewer inclusions the diamond has; the clearer, more brilliant and more expensive the diamond will be. A "Flawless" diamond is one that has no inclusions and is extremely rare and valuable.


diamond color

Colorless and near-colorless diamonds are the most valuable. Though most diamonds may appear colorless to the naked eye, the majority of diamonds contain slight traces of yellow or light brown when viewed under a jeweler's loupe. Depending on the stone's size, a single increase in color grade can boost the value of a diamond by thousands of dollars per carat. A traditional engagement diamond is usually colorless or near-colorless.

In nature, diamonds can also occur in shades of red, pink, blue, green and deep yellow - These are called "Fancy diamonds". In the United States and around the world colorless diamonds are graded on an alphabetical scale, introduced by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA). "Colorless" or "rare white" diamonds are of color grades D, E and F. Diamonds of color grade D are very rare, and extremely valuable.


diamond carat weight

The weight of a diamond is measured in carats (ct.). Each carat is divided into 100 points. For example: 1ct.= 100 points, 1/2 ct. = 50 points, etc. The carat weight alone is almost meaningless unless you also consider the cut, clarity and color of the diamond. A large diamond is not very valuable if it lacks brilliance, purity and high-grade color.

However, since larger stones are rarer than smaller ones, diamond value rises exponentially with carat weight. Therefore, a diamond weighing 3.0 carats, will always be worth more than three 1.0 carat stones of the same quality. No two diamonds are exactly alike, and you must weigh all of the factors - color, cut, clarity and carat weight - when making your diamond jewelry buying decision.

bottom shadow